• Groups Hero Image


Argyll – Members / Governance

The Argyll Timber Transport Group was formed in 1997 to promote dialogue between timber producers and the local authority over the use of public roads by timber traffic. The group covers the Argyll & Bute Council area and meets every six months.

Organisations currently represented on the Argyll Timber Transport Group are:

  • Argyll & Bute Council
  • Forestry Commission
  • Forest Enterprise
  • Scottish Woodlands Ltd
  • UPM Tilhill
  • Aichesse Co
  • Euroforest
  • Iggesund
  • Egger
  • James Jones & Sons
  • J.R. Dixon & Son
  • Balcas Timber Ltd
  • United Kingdom Forest Products Association

The main objectives of the Group are to:

  • maintain and support the timber traffic and timber production database, and maintain the Agreed Routes scheme;
  • analyse the efficiency of the public road network in Argyll and explore the possibilities for extending the forest road network to keep heavy traffic off public roads;
  • establish the potential for use of the rail network for timber transport in Argyll, including capacity of existing railheads and the possible demand for an additional purpose-built facility;
  • explore and promote the potential for increased use of sea transport.

© 2014 Confederation of Forest Industries (UK) Ltd (Confor).
Registered in Scotland No. SC34467.
59 George Street, Edinburgh, EH2 2JG. Tel: +44 (0) 131 240 1410.